Ghirardelli Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_8605My favorite food to bake are chocolate chip cookies. They are gooey, decadent and easy to make! Forget the ones that are ready for you to bake, baking them from scratch is easy. Plus, you can adjust the size of the cookies to your liking. 😀

The Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie
Recipe: Ghirardelli
Ingredients
  • 10 ounce(s) 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
  • 2 1/4 cup(s) unsifted flour
  • 1 teaspoon(s) baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon(s) teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup(s) (2 sticks) butter
  • 3/4 cup(s) sugar
  • 3/4 cup(s) packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoon(s) vanilla

Directions

Preheat oven to 375ºF. Stir flour with baking soda and salt; set aside. In large mixer bowl, cream butter with sugar, brown sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Gradually blend dry mixture into creamed mixture. Stir in nuts and chocolate chips. Drop 1 tablespoon of dough per cookie onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake at 375ºF for 9 to 11 minutes or until golden brown.
IMG_8583

Gather ingredients.

IMG_8584

Whip the butter. (I realized it needed two sticks! I did not add the second one until after.)

IMG_8586

Mix it well, but do not over mix the batter!

IMG_8593

Add the vanilla.

IMG_8595

The mixture should roughly look like this. Give or take. Baking is never perfect.

IMG_8600

The batter.

IMG_8601

Into the oven it goes! Bake for 9 to 11 minutes until golden brown. *The pan is ungreased.

IMG_8603

I know the temptation to immediately dig into the pile of cookies may be overwhelming, but you need to cool them for a bit and transfer them to a wire cooling rack.

IMG_8606

Since I baked these for my boyfriend for Valentine’s Day, I thought it would be appropriate to serve them on a heart-shaped platter. ❤

My tips for baking: I always use butter straight from the fridge so that it’s cold when I put them in the mixer. I find the best cookies are when the dough is chilled. If you have time, chill the dough for an hour before baking. It makes the cookies plump instead of flat.

Also, use cold baking sheets. I find that when the baking sheets are warm/hot, the cookies will flatten. I always bake the cookies in the minimum time, so 9 minutes in this case.

And last, have fun baking! Baking is always trial-and-error. Some ovens are hotter in certain spots, and it depends on the level of the rack you bake things on.

One thought on “Ghirardelli Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookies Without a Mixer | Kiss the Whisk

Comments are closed.